Daily Archives: February 9, 2011

Will flirt for food

When I lived in Raleigh, I ate lunch nearly every day at a Greek restaurant that was within walking distance of work.  I was there so frequently in fact, that they started giving me free food.  It was harmless at first.  A little baklava here, no charge for a drink there and then came the grape leaves.  Oh stuffed grape leaves.  I don’t think I paid for a single stuffed grape leaf the entire time I lived there, and when they found out I was leaving, my whole lunch was free.  Do you know why?  The very hairy cute old Greek man behind the counter told me it was because of my beautiful smile.  (Did I mention he was very hairy and that not many women must have smiled at him?)  So of course, I flashed him one last set of pearly whites and landed another side of free grape leaves.

Shameless?  Absolutely not!  If an action as simple as smiling and striking up casual conversation with a lonely old Greek restaurateur helps save me a few bucks, I will do it again and again.

In fact Niro’s Gyros has a new regular patron…