Daily Archives: January 6, 2010

Listen all y’all it’s a sabotage!

Day 5.

I’m super proud of myself.  I skipped beer last night at trivia, I brought my lunch to work yesterday and I even  did the Jared subway diet today, since I forgot to pack a lunch.  I’m off to such a great start that something is bound to go wrong. Right?

Enter evil cake lady.  The instructor for our cake decorating class at work always leaves behind a cake on the first night of class.  Tonight was the first night of class, and evil cake lady is so evil that she specifically baked a deliciously double chocolatey cake with buttercream icing specifically for me. I politely declined a tasting of the cake.  She persisted.  I once again declined but this time I added,” thisisthe5thdayofSlimdown2010anddnoIcannotjusthaveatastethankyouverymuch!” Because as any true food addict knows, one taste always leads to a whole piece, which then leads to the whole damn cake and then you’re looking at the crumbs on the plate thinking, “Did I really just eat a whole cake?” Yes. Yes you did.

Not this time my friends.  That cake is sitting untouched in the employee break room and I am off tomorrow.  It will be gone upon my return, with any luck.

Stay tuned for Lainy’s Triumphant return to the gym.  Oh it’s gonna happen. Time to battle the bulge-cardio style!